Kaylekd's blog for PR Writing

Samantha “Sex and the City”

Posted on: March 2, 2010

After reading over one of my classmates blogs about tv shows giving the PR world a bad reputation, I couldn’t help but think of Samantha from the hit show Sex and the City. She wears very expensive clothes, has inappropriate relations with half of New York City, and honestly it doesn’t look like her work week is that busy.

In my opinion they need to stop portraying the PR world in this way. People are majoring in PR because they think they are going to have a job like this…this is not the case. Anyone else agree?

10 Responses to "Samantha “Sex and the City”"

We have brought up Samantha from Sex and the City a lot in my PR classes and how a career in public relations is not going to be like that. Sure it really does look pretty cool and glamorous but you have to do work to actually get paid and live in the nice area of NYC. Regardless of the comparison, I think that public relations is a great field to be in because of the variety of work we will get to do and all the connections we will make along the way. Samantha does more entertainment publicity which is kind of what I want to do, but I think she sets up a lot of false hope for people looking to get into that industry!

I never have thought about Samantha from Sex and the City when referring to public relations but I happen to agree with you completely. That show was so popular and now the movies are coming out which reaches an even larger spectator count. It makes people involved with PR look like they are snooty, stuck-up and act like they are above all others around them. I wish that these programs would begin to portray the real job of a PR worker beyond the glam or easy going aspect. This is my major and I know that when I graduate and have a job I would not want to be seen in that light.

I tend to agree a little with your statement, but at the same time disagree. Although, her job does entail some aspects of PR, everyone knows the show is a drama series and is not based on a reality TV show. If the show commented that it was based on a true storyline, then yes, I might be a little concerned, but in truth all of it is made up. And if you want to look at it in a different angle, Samantha does wear expensive clothes, which means she has money to be buying these types of clothes so she should be doing something right in her job to dress that way. Although I do have to admit that I am quite sick of shows portraying the PR profession in a negative way, we as upcoming practitioners need to change this viewpoint and make it a point in our careers not to fall into these stereotypes.

-Sarah Gricius

[…] Link: https://kaylekd.wordpress.com/2010/03/02/samantha-sex-and-the-city/#comment-9 […]

You’re right about the show Sex and the City. It does portray negative sterotypes about the PR profession (as well as a number of other things). There’s a lot of other TV shows and movies that do the same thing. In my PR senior seminar class, we looked at several works of fiction that dealt with public relations. Our goal was to get an idea of why pop culture portrays PR the way it does. My take on the whole thing is simply that writers and producers of television shows are looking to entertain people. The fact is that a PR professionals life is not full of cocktail parties and expensive dinners, but that is what people want to see.

[…] Samantha “Sex and the City”  by Kayle Hutchins […]

I agree, I think that on television and in movies the job of a public relations practitioner is glamorized and people do not realize the amount of work that they actually have to do. Of course, PR people get the opportunity to run events which can be seen as fun and exciting to outsiders, but they do not get to see what all has to be done behind the scenes. Not to mention, PR people are working at events, not socializing. I think that anyone in this major who thinks that will have a job like Samantha from “Sex and The City” is going to be in for a ride awakening!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • MARANDA BUTLER: I AM NOT A BIG FAN OF PR OPEN MIC. I HAVE ONNLY ACCESSED MY ACCOUNT ABOUT 3 TIMES SINCE I HAVE CREATED IT. I FIND IT A BIT HARD TO USE, AND A LITTLE U
  • MARANDA BUTLER: ELEMENTS OF MULTIMEDIA STORYTELLING IS ALL AROUND US WHETHER WE ARE AWRE OF IT OR NOT. EVERYTIME YOU GO TO A BLOG OR A NEWS MEDIA WEBSITE YOU ARE REA
  • PRCA 3330: Blog Comments « Exploring the World of Blogging: [...] https://kaylekd.wordpress.com/2010/03/02/samantha-sex-and-the-city/ [...]
