Kaylekd's blog for PR Writing

Chapter 7 reading notes

Posted on: March 11, 2010

While reading chapter seven, I came across the term backgrounder.  I had never heard of this before and then I continued reading to find out there is more than one type. One focuses on a problem and how it was solved by an organization or a product.  Another kind of backgrounder explains how technology or a product has evolved over the years.

People like to read about people. Which is true, I know I do! This is good for magazine sales or brochure covers. When people are walking by a newstand and they see their favorite celebrity on the cover of a magazine, you want to stop and look at it. You are more likely to buy a magazine with a celebrity your interested in on it, so that you can read the article or the personality profile about that person on the inside.

In my other classes it is sometime tough for me to write a good feature story. I enjoyed the tips for success in this area. Some tips where: get the reader’s attention with a catchy headline, don’t give a standard paragraph about the organization at the end of the article, and don’t put the corporate name in all capital letters because it violates AP style.

This information is from my book: Public Relations Writing and Media Techniques

http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Public-Relations-Writing-and-Media-Techniques/Dennis-L-Wilcox/e/9780205418497/

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • MARANDA BUTLER: I AM NOT A BIG FAN OF PR OPEN MIC. I HAVE ONNLY ACCESSED MY ACCOUNT ABOUT 3 TIMES SINCE I HAVE CREATED IT. I FIND IT A BIT HARD TO USE, AND A LITTLE U
  • MARANDA BUTLER: ELEMENTS OF MULTIMEDIA STORYTELLING IS ALL AROUND US WHETHER WE ARE AWRE OF IT OR NOT. EVERYTIME YOU GO TO A BLOG OR A NEWS MEDIA WEBSITE YOU ARE REA
  • PRCA 3330: Blog Comments « Exploring the World of Blogging: [...] https://kaylekd.wordpress.com/2010/03/02/samantha-sex-and-the-city/ [...]
